Arnett and D-Cross at it again

Seriously, how many TV shows starring Will Arnett and David Cross do I not know about??

It seems I have been doing so much life living in the real world (that’s actual reality, not the MTV ‘reality’ TV show featuring numerous douchebags getting drunk and hooking up) that these keep passing me by.

The tagline ‘Ego meets eco’ is cringe-worthy, however, the fact that it was created by Mitchell Hurwitz (Arrested Development) brought hope.

I really, REALLY wanted this to be good, but it wasn’t…it really wasn’t.

…granted I have only watched the pilot so far, but it’s the vibe of the thing that has me doubting it could be a winner.

The show centres around Steven Wilde (Arnett) the son of an oil tycoon, attempting to rekindle the flame with his eco-concious childhood sweetheart Emmy (Kerry Russell). Emmy leaves her environmentalist work and boyfriend (David Cross) in the rainforest under the impression Wilde has changed his ways and become a humanitarian. It becomes immediately apparent that this is not the case and though Emmy initially decides to head back to the rainforest, she inevitably chooses to stay and work on a new project – helping Steven to do good for nothing.

Along for the ride are some wacky servants, but not many laughs. In fact zero LOLing occurred.

I’ll give a few more episodes a crack, but at this stage I’m not too upset (or shocked) that the series got cancelled before the end of Season 1.

Tagged , ,

Leave a comment